Let it be

In the past week or two there is this common phrase that keeps reappearing “let it be” in my life. I always wonder if this is the universe trying to tell me something. In the past six months I have found a man I love, moved, lost my yoga, found my yoga, been more hormonal than a 16 year old due to my thyroid, and now transitioning careers. That’s right, tomorrow I sign papers to become part of a new community. It is my transition into the yoga community officially. I committed weeks ago to finally jump back into my yoga teaching and within weeks i had several places wanting me to teach. It didn’t really work out how I wanted, however it will be a great transition. I am so happy, and on the same note scared. I keep questioning how I am going to carry two jobs, keep sane, still have a yoga practice, eat healthy, and most of all what is it going to do to my relationship? Innately this transition is what I want, but fear and questions keep arising. I know I have a wonderful man who keeps supporting me through all of this and I am sure will be there all the way. It will be tough but for a short time.

So back to “let it be”, I keep hearing this lately. I truly believe that if you listen and pay attention the universe will show you the way. It’s this idea of non-attachment, which prevalent in yoga philosophy. The idea that everything changes, that we suffer when we cling to something even though inherently everything changes. Which I am clinging to my life as I know it, safe, secure, but unhappy. If I let it be, and keep my positive energy things will work out. Instead of creating all this fear and anxiety, I need to just let it be. Like the cliche phrase, ” life is not about where you end up, it is the journey that counts”. I should be enjoying all these moments, I can not make time stand still. Life becomes the thoughts you put out there, and through my fear I am putting out all these negative thoughts. Let it be, for life will be what it may, but I might as well enjoy every step of the way, appreciate the ones who are there for me, for what I may learn, for within being “uncomfortable” is when the work really happens. In being so caught up in my thoughts and i fears i am more likely to self sabotage or cause myself more pain than i need to. I do not know what may happen but I am very excited for the future. It is a whole new chapter starting and it is only through my yoga that I have the tools to do what I need to. This weeks lesson, do not be so caught up in our internal dialogue, spend more time enjoying the moments than worrying what is to come.

20120624-100216.jpg

2 thoughts on “Let it be

  1. Great words! “Let it be” is definitely a phrase that everyone could benefit from and it can be useful at some of the most vulnerable and uncomfortable times. My girlfriend and I both have hypo-active thyroids; it’s very interesting to see how coping with this and meshing with the yoga community works. Thanks for your honesty 🙂

  2. This post is fantastic. Best of luck to you and your family. A quote came to my mind while reading… it goes something like: ‘Without desire, there is no suffering.’ (HH Dalai Lama)

    What’s funny is that my blog post yesterday touches on elements you raise in yours today. Let it be summarizes the unison of our posts.

    Peace to you 🙂

Leave a Reply

